Logo Polskiego Radia

European Parliament approves Ukraine visa waiver

PR dla Zagranicy
Roberto Galea 06.04.2017 16:48
The European Parliament (EP) approved an informal deal with the European Council on Thursday, granting visa-free travel for Ukrainian citizens to Poland and other EU countries.
Photo: Flickr.com/hjlPhoto: Flickr.com/hjl

The exemption from EU short-stay visa requirements regarding Ukrainians “applies to all EU countries, except Ireland and the UK, plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland”, a statement by the Parliament said.

Once the measure comes into effect, Ukrainians who hold biometric passports will have the right to enter the European Union without a visa for 90 days in any 180-day period for business, tourist or family visits, the statement read.

The measure has to be formally adopted by the Council of Ministers, which is likely to happen in June, according to the EP’s press release.

The decision is seen as a means of showing support for Ukraine, a country that has been mired in a conflict with Russia and Moscow-backed separatists.


Copyright © Polskie Radio S.A About Us Contact Us