Logo Polskiego Radia

Huge classical music archive online

PR dla Zagranicy
Peter Gentle 03.12.2013 15:18
Almost the entire output of three world famous Polish composers, Witold Lutosławski, Henryk Mikołaj Górecki and Krzysztof Penderecki, has been made available on a new website of the National Audiovisual Institute.


The bilingual Polish-English site at trzejkompozytorzy.pl contains almost 300 musical pieces and 950 articles on the life and work of the three composers.

Minister of Culture and National Heritage Bogdan Zdrojewski has described the project as a musical library of a truly world-class calibre which serves as an ambassador of Polish culture.

The recordings featured in the collection include performances conducted by the composers and leading Polish and foreign conductors (Antoni Wit, Witold Rowicki, Jan Krenz, Andrzej Markowski, Wojciech Michniewski, Zubin Mehta, Valery Gergiev), with the participation of such great soloists as the pianist Krystian Zimerman, the cellist Mstislav Rostropovich, the violinist Anne Sophie Mutter and the Kronos Quartet.

The site also contains extensive documentation relating to all recordings as well as playlists compiled by performers, conductors and members of the composers’ families, Górecki’s daughter Anna Górecka, Penderecki’s wife Elżbieta and Lutosławski’s stepson Marcin Bogusławski.

The project was launched to mark the centenary of the birth of Lutosławski, Penderecki’s 80th birthday (on 23 November) and the third anniversary of the birth of Górecki (born 80 years ago). (mk/pg)

Copyright © Polskie Radio S.A About Us Contact Us